Voters go to the polls next Tuesday to vote their party’s choices to be on the November ballot.

Although not at the top of the ballot, the race that has drawn the most interest is for the 117th state legislative district which was redrawn following the 2010 census and now reclaims for Wyoming County a single person responsible for the affairs of the county.

The redrawn district also includes portions of Lackawanna County and Luzerne County.

At present, Rep. Sid Michaels Kavulich represents Factoryvlle Borough in the 114th District, Sandra Major represents most of Wyoming County north and east of the Susquehanna River plus Mehoopany Twp. in the 111th District, and since 2007, Karen Boback has represented the 117th District which included most of the county south and west of the Susquehanna River.

This time around, Boback, a retired Tunkhannock Area School District teacher, and resident of Harveys Lake, is being challenged in the Republican Primary by Tunkhanock optometrist Davis Haire in a spirited contest. (See separate story., page 14) The winner of next Tuesday’s GOP vote will square off in the November election against Wyoming County auditor Laura Dickson, of Tunkhannock Twp., who is running unopposed in the Democratic primary.

There are a number of other races before the voters in next Tuesday’s primary.

On the Republican side, Gov. Tom Corbett is facing token opposition from Robert Guzzardi of Montgomery County; and the following are running unopposed: Lt. Gov. Jim Cawley, 11th Congressional District Rep. Lou Barletta, and State Sen. Lisa Baker.

In the Democratic Primary, four candidates are seeking the governor’s post: Tom Wolf, Robert McCord, Katie McGinty and Allyson Schwartz, and five are seeking the lt. governor’s post: Mike Stack, Mark Critz, Mark Smith, Brandon Neuman and Brad Koplinski. In addition to Dickson in the 117th, Andy Ostrowski of Dauphin County is running unopposed in the Democratic Party for the right to square off against Barletta in November.

A number of local Republican and Democratic Party committee posts are also on the ballot.

The polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.